top of page

“Our generation's Vachal Lindsay”Vernon Burton, Professor Emeritus, University of Illinois


The Dance is a step back to my singer-songwriter beginnings. It features 7 original songs and 5 covers by some of my very favorite songwriters such as John Gorka, Garnet Rogers and Greg Brown. Roots based original and contemporary folk songs with the rich acoustic textures of bottleneck slide, finger style and flatpicked guitars that echo the influences of Mississippi John Hurt, Doc Watson, Norman Blake and John Fahey.

From the joys of Handcranked Homemade Ice Cream to the lazy bottleneck slide guitar of I’m Movin’ On, The Dance is an intimate CD laced with the bittersweet memories of days gone by; an intimate portrait of the rural Illinois at the turn of the new century.

Mandolin wizard Don Sternberg and Grammy nominated percussionist Rocky Moffat joined me to record the tracks; Grammy winner Charlie Pilzer at AIRSHOW did the mastering.

The Dance

SKU: 78307094809
    1. The Dance
    2. Hopelessly Midwestern
    3. Let Them In, Peter
    4. Diamonds Falling From The Sky
    5. Sunday Drivin’ on a Monday Afternoon
    6. Small Victory
    7. I’m Movin’ On
    8. Homemade Ice Cream
    9. Early
    10. Some Sweet Day
    11. Emily’s Waltz
    12. Hard Times Come Again No More
bottom of page